Whakapā Mai

"*" indicates required fields

The Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust (“Iwi Trust”) represents the collective interests of Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri (NMOW) and is a mandated iwi authority for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991 and the Māori Fisheries Act 2004.  It is the successor to the old Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Trust and Te Runanga o Wharekauri.

The Trust manages over $33.9m in tribal assets.

These assets are used to generate the income the Trust uses to (amongst other things):

  • Build and manage our 3 homes and 2 kaumatua flats at Te One
  • Deliver our support programmes (click here for more information: Ngā Painga)
  • Support our kaumatua
  • Run our settlement process
  • Support our tribal aspirations


Our board is made up of 7 trustees:  5 Ahi kaa on Wharekauri, 1 from Te Waipounamu, 1 from Te Ika a Maui

One trustee is a director on the 4-member asset holding company

Deena Whaitiri - Chair

Ahi kaa

Monique Croon - Deputy Chair

Ahi kaa

Melodie Eruera-Fraser

Ahi kaa

Jason Seymour

Ahi kaa

John Kamo

Ahi kaa

Duane Emeny

Te Ika a Maui

Paula Page

Te Waipounamu


Gail Amaru - CEO
Hone Tibble - Operations Manager
Debbie Tuuta - Administrator
Te Amo Siaosi - Administrator
Elizabeth Day - Whanau Ora Navigator
Ward Kamo - Registrar
Tom McClurg - Lead Negotiator
Hariroa Daymond - Negotiator

Asset Holding Company

Joseph Thomas - Chair
Deena Whaitiri - Trustee Director
Tom McClurg - Director
Nicholas Cameron - Director

Settlement Journey

Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri has longstanding claims against the Crown. Claims against the Crown have been expressed through protests made by Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri. In particular, those protests have related to the allocation of lands during the sitting of the Native Land Court in 1870 and the subsequent loss in relation to:

  • Lands through alienation
  • Fishing rights through various acts of Parliament up to 2004
  • Reo
  • Ngā Tikanga o Ngāti Mutunga.

The Deed of Mandate between Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri and the Crown was signed mid-2014.

Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri claims include (and are not limited to):

  • Early Purchases;
  • 1870 Native Land Court alienation;
  • New Zealand Settlements Acts;
  • Te Whaanga Lagoon;
  • Compensation Process;
  • Acts of Parliament;
  • Fishing rights;
  • Land Tenure;
  • Lack of recognition of the unique circumstances of living on Wharekauri;
  • Public Works Acquisitions;
  • Natural Resources; and
  • Late Purchases.

Since then the settlement process has been un-necessarily drawn out, complicated, and difficult.  At times Ngāti Mutunga has been set up in competition with ourselves and our Moriori Whanaunga on Wharekauri.  This is a continuation of the ‘divide and conquer’ strategy so favoured by the Crown since 1840.

That said, we are finally approaching a stage where we believe a settlement based on principals of honouring our tupuna and providing for our mokopuna can be achieved.  The final steps to completion are:

  1. Crown Apology
  2. Historical Account and Acknowledgements
  3. Cultural, Commercial and Financial Redress
  4. Agree an Agreement in Principal (AIP)
  5. Continue to urge the Minister to withdraw offer of Hospital Block lands to Moriori so that they can be offered to Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri exclusive customary redress
  6. Confirm ‘catch up’ iDoS and legislative timetable to allow dual Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri and Moriori legislation to be enacted.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x