Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Mandate Group Chair

Nei ra te mihi mahana o te tau hou ki a koutou katoa 

We are pleased to inform you that at hui of the Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Mandate Group, John Kamo stepped aside from his interim chair role.  The Mandate Group, after much discussion and reflection, appointed Phil Seymour as Chair.

We both wish to acknowledge the exceptional work done by John to bring the Mandate Group to this point. We can reassure the whānau that John will stay with the Mandate Group in his capacity as Iwi Trust deputy chair.  The Mandate Group wish it noted that John had their full support as interim chair.  

This positive development was initiated to enable a clearer separation of the roles the Iwi Trust and the Mandate Group will play in the settlement of our Iwi grievances.  The Mandate Group is responsible for the day to day management of the settlement process.  The appointment of Phil Seymour will bring greater clarity to the role of the Mandate Group. 

We remind whānau, the Mandate Group will be meeting with you all on Tuesday 28 January from 6:30pm in the run up to the formal mandate process which begins on Wharekauri Feburary 8.  

No reira e te whanaunga, ma te Atua e manaaki, e tiaki, i nga wa katoa.

Paula Page - Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust Chair 
Phil Seymour - Mandate Group Chair