2010 AGM and Election of Trustees

Notification and Call for Nominations

In accordance with the Trust Deed, Notice is given that an Election of Trustees and the Annual General Meeting of the Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust will commence at 10.00am on Saturday 21 August at Whakamaharatanga Marae, Te One, on Wharekauri, Chatham Islands.  One Wharekauri (Chatham Islands) and one Te Waipounamu (South Island) Trustee must retire by rotation this year.  The retiring Trustee, Paula Page can stand for re-election if she should choose.  The Te Waipounamu seat is currently vacant.

Nominations for the two Trustee positions open on Friday 21st May 2010, and close at 12 noon on Thursday 17th June 2010.

Nominations must be made on the official form available from the Independent Returning Officer by phoning 0508 666 447 or from the Trust office, Owenga Road, Chatham Islands.  A Nomination Paper must be signed by two registered and verified adult members of the Trust.  Candidates must also submit a profile statement and photograph with their nomination paper for dispatching with voting papers if an election is required.

If the number of valid nominations received by the closing date for nominations exceeds the number required, an election will be held by postal voting.  The voting period will be from 8am on Friday 9th July to the end of the AGM on Saturday 21st August 2010.  Voting forms can be submitted in person at the AGM.

The Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust also invites anyone aged 18 years and over with the appropriate Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri affiliations who has not already enrolled, to apply to be included on the Trust’s Register.  Registration forms are available from the Trust’s office or website – www.nmow.co.nz  The closing date for registrations is 5pm on Wednesday 30th June 2010.  Registrations received after this date will not be eligible to vote in the 2010 election.

Warwick Lampp
Returning Officer 

Election Helpline: 0508 666 447